Sunday, 27 August 2023 14:15

OHS Takes First Place in 2023 Oswego County Envirothon

Written by
Write a comment
OHS Takes First Place in 2023 Oswego County Envirothon Submitted photo

The Oswego County Legislature’s Economic Development and Planning Committee presented a certificate of recognition to students from Oswego High School as the winning team of the 31st annual Oswego County Envirothon during the June meeting of the full Legislature.

This year’s competition took place at Camp Hollis in Oswego. The team went on to place seventh out of 42 teams at the New York State Envirothon competition at Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, N.Y. Coordinated by the Oswego County Soil and Water Conservation District, the hands-on outdoor competition tests students’ knowledge of natural resources such as aquatics, forestry, soil and land use, wildlife and current environmental issues.

Pictured from left are legislators Paul House, District 8; Committee Vice Chairwoman Noelle Beckwith-Salmonsen, District 21; Erica Schreiner, senior district technician, Oswego County Soil and Water Conservation District; Committee Chairwoman Mary Ellen Chesbro, District 10; Michael Paestella; Ian Mackenzie; Elliot Newell; Aaron O’Brien; Jack DelConte, Julia Kinsey, team advisor and science teacher at Oswego High School; Roy E. Reehil, District 5; Marie C. Schadt, District 19; and Edward Gilson, District 3.

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.