Thursday, 08 August 2013 19:38

Oswego Kartway returns to action Friday night

Written by
Write a comment

     The countdown continues toward the seventh annual Oswego Kartway Classic with the eighth point race of the season this Friday night, Aug. 9, at the tight clay "Bullring."

     A total of 100 entries filed through the main gate last Friday night at the Kartway and as the Friday nights continue to wind down before Budweiser Classic Week, Oswego's weekly kart racers are looking to fine tune their machines before the coveted Classic main events coming Thursday, Aug. 29.

     With only three point races remaining in the season, a number of championship battles remain close as the series heads down the stretch run of the year.

     Alex Losurdo managed to gain three points over Ryan Perkins in their tight race for the Jr. Blue Clone championship. Losurdo grabbed the 'Battle at the Bullring' main event win one week ago and how holds a 27-point edge on Perkins. Seth Perrin, Sean Simmons and Katelynn Stevens round out the top five.

     Dan Kapuscinski regained the point lead in Stock Heavy with a 'Battle at the Bullring' feature win last Friday, and now leads Ron Abbott by 25-points. Paul Fountaine, Kirk Smith and Chris Natoli currently hold the top five positions in the Stock Heavy division.

     Cris Lane extended his point lead in the Animal division last Friday and now leads Ron Billings by 14-points.

     Clone Light continues to see a back and forth battle as Kaylynn Simmons now regains the top spot over Takota Jacobson by 25-points. Jacobson had an off night last Friday in the 'Battle at the Bullring' with Simmons driving on to her third feature win of the season. Bruce Simmons, Aaron Sheldon, and Aaron LaTulip round out the top five in Clone Light.

     Jake Sivers continues to lead the way in Stock Light over Tom Perrin. Sivers has one main event win on the season and has used consistency to his advantage to hold the division lead, as six different drivers have earned victories in the Stock Light class. Robbie Bruce, Chris Natoli and Darrick Cutway are the top five.

     Other division point leaders include Josh Ostrander (Sr. Blue Clone), Dylan Trump (Jr. Silver Clone), Matthew Barbour (Gold Plate), Joe Hayden (Clone Heavy), Corey Norton (Open), and DJ Shuman (Clone Super Heavy).

     Friday night's action at the Kartway will see pit gates open at 4:30 p.m., hot laps begin at 6:30 p.m. and the first heat race of the night at 7:30 p.m.

     Entry fees are $15 for members, $18 for non-members, and pit passes will be sold for $10.

     Spectator entry is $5 per car load.

     For more information on Oswego Kartway visit online at; LIKE on Facebook at; or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoKartway.

     To speak with a Kartway representative call Oswego Speedway at 315-342-0646.
     Click for Oswego Kartway Championship Standings (Top 5).

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.