Monday, 31 March 2014 15:23

Oswego Speedway Ranked Nationally Among America`s Favorite Race Tracks

Written by
Write a comment
Oswego Speedway Ranked Nationally Among America`s Favorite Race Tracks Submitted photo

     For the second consecutive year Oswego Speedway is ranked in the Top 5 among America's favorite race tracks according to National Speed Sport News Magazine.

     Each off-season National Speed Sport News conducts a reader poll across thousands of motorsports enthusiasts and race fans in the United States to determine America's Top 10 Favorite Race Tracks.

     After placing fifth overall in the 2013 poll, Oswego Speedway climbed to third in the overall rankings in 2014 behind only Rossburg, Ohio's Eldora Speedway and Knoxville, Iowa's Knoxville Raceway. Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin and Salina, Oklahoma's Salina Highbanks Speedway completed the Top 5.

     "Oswego Speedway is no doubt one of the more captivating racing facilities in the country," said Dan Kapuscinski, Oswego Speedway Public Realtions Director. "When you walk through the steel gates at Oswego, you feel as though you have walked into a piece of motorsports history. The Caruso family, the founding fathers of our great Speedway helped to make that happen 64-years ago, and the Torrese family is doing all they can to continue our great tradition of excellence in Supermodified racing. We thank our amazing race fans for continuing to support our facility and we welcome everyone to Oswego Speedway this coming May."

     National Speed Sport News has been known as "The bible of Motorsports." Since 1934, National Speed Sport News has been the authoritative voice of the sport of auto racing, providing coverage that is timely, reliable, and colorful.

     Oswego Speedway, founded in 1951 by Harry Caruso and family, has been known as the 'Home of Supermodifieds' since 1961, remaining the only auto racing facility in the world to host weekly Supermodified racing culminating with the richest Supermodified race in the world, the Budweiser International Classic 200 held each Labor Day Weekend. Known across the country for its daunting steel walls, the Speedway's continued Supermodified evolution has seen increased speeds at the fast 5/8 mile Oswego oval.

     Just last Classic Weekend Dave Shullick Jr. became the first driver in Speedway history to dip into the 14-second bracket with his Jim Bodnar built winged ISMA Supermodified, eclipsing the 150mph barrier. The Speedway's weekly non-wing Supermodifieds have also seen their share of break neck speeds, becoming more like short track racing's Indy Car each year with ever increasing developments in aerodynamics.

     The 2013 Budweiser International Classic 200 qualifying field, which featured its first woman competitor in Jessica Zemken, was the fastest in Speedway history with a total of 28 drivers clipping laps above 130mph, including Pat Lavery's pole speed of 138.692mph. Zemken, known far and wide for her 410 sprint car success on dirt, turned a lap of 135.624mph during last year's Classic qualifications and she will be back at Oswego full-time in 2014 to contend for Rookie of the Year honors.

     While speed and danger have been the Speedway's hallmark for several years, the 'Steel Palace' has also played host to several Indianapolis 500 veterans including Mario Andretti, Gordon Johncock, Sam Sessions, Bentley Warren, Davey Hamilton, and Joe Gosek.

     Since 2011 the Speedway has seen a true resurgence with the rise of new co-owners John and Eric Torrese. The Torreses, former Speedway racers themselves, have brought much needed attention to the 64-year old facility and have helped to foster a growing weekly Supermodified division that is expecting nearly 30 entries for their opening event on Saturday, May 10.

     Six-time and defending Oswego Speedway Supermodified champion Otto Sitterly will be back in 2014 looking to defend his title, attempting to claim championship number seven. If Sitterly were able to do so he would tie Speedway legends Jim Shampine and Warren on the all-time championship list, trailing only the great Nolan Swift.

     Sitterly will have to contend with a stellar weekly field at Oswego in order to attain that historical seventh championship including Gosek, Shaun Gosselin, Lavery, Dave Gruel, Dave Danzer, Michael Barnes and the return of open wheel aces Joey Payne, Randy Ritskes, and Ray Graham.

     Not to mention special appearances by Hamilton, Shullick, Ryan Litt and others that will make simply pulling into Oswego's Turning Stone Resort Casino Victory Lane a true accomplishment.

     Kids 16 and under will again be admitted free at all Speedway events in 2014 with the exception of Budweiser International Classic Weekend August 29-31 and Race of Champions/Championship Weekend September 12-14.

     On track activity beings at Oswego Speedway on Saturday, April 26 with the annual open test session for all racing divisions. Testing will run from 1-5pm on April 26 and is free for spectators to sit in the main grandstand.

     Racing action at the Speedway begins on Saturday, May 3 with the 64th annual Gater Racing News Opening Night featuring the Shea Concrete 'Steel Palace' ISMA Super Series 'Irish' Jack Murphy Memorial 56 and the opening round of the Pathfinder Bank SBS Road to the Championship.

     The Speedway's flagship non-wing Novelis Supermodified division will kick-off their 53rd consecutive season of racing at the Home of Supermodifieds on Saturday, May 10th presented by Mitchell's Speedway Press and Planet Fitness of Oswego. Nearly 30 Novelis Supermodifieds are expected in be in action including defending champion Otto Sitterly and Indianapolis 500 veterans Joe Gosek and Davey Hamilton.

     For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and LIKE on Facebook at

     For more information on National Speed Sport News visit online at and Follow on Twitter @SPEEDSPORT_.

National Speed Sports News – My Favorite Race Tracks – Top 10


1. Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, Ohio

2. Knoxville Raceway – Knoxville, Iowa

3. Oswego Speedway – Oswego, NY

4. Road America – Elkhart Lake, Wis.

5. Salina Highbanks Speedway – Salina, Okla

6. Indianapolis Motor Speedway – Speedway, Ind.

7. Williams Grove Speedway – Mechanicsburg, Pa

8. Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.

9. Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.

10. Canadian Tire Motorsports Park, Bowmansville, Ontario

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.