Tuesday, 05 March 2019 12:50

Oswego Speedway to Present Heat Race Action at Inaugural Syracuse Indoor Event

Written by
Write a comment
Oswego Speedway to Present Heat Race Action at Inaugural Syracuse Indoor Event Submitted photo

John and Eric Torrese, owners of the Oswego Speedway, have stepped up to present this weekend’s heat race action at the inaugural Syracuse Indoor Auto event slated for Friday and Saturday night, March 8 and 9.

The first ever Syracuse Indoor Race, held as part of the Indoor Auto Racing Championship, will take place inside the all new Exposition Center at the New York State Fairgrounds. Saturday’s racing will run in conjunction with the 2019 Syracuse Motorsports Expo.

Two complete programs of indoor racing are scheduled for the Salt City this weekend and will include the TQ Midget, Slingshot, and Champ Kart divisions. The headlining TQ’s will compete in a 40-lap main event each night.

“Oswego Speedway is happy to support the inaugural Syracuse Indoor Race,” said John Torrese. “Len Sammons Motorsports has done such a great job with the Indoor Auto Racing Championship and we are very excited to see it come to Central New York. We hope to see all of our fans in attendance.”

This weekend’s format will see four Oswego Speedway TQ heat races per program with 12 cars going 10 laps. 4 cars will transfer to the main events from each heat. Two 10-lap, sixteen car TQ B-Mains will then take place, taking a total of six more cars to the nightcap.

Approaching the Syracuse Indoor Race, Ryan Flores currently leads the Indoor Auto Racing Championship standings by thirty points over Erick Rudolph, Justin Bonsignore, Andy Jankowiak and Eddie Strada. The overall series champion will be decided this weekend.

Four current and former Oswego Speedway competitors will be in the field including Supermodified drivers Tyler Thompson, Joey Payne and Lou Cicconi, along with former Small Block Super campaigner AJ Bernys.

In addition to supporting the Syracuse Indoor Race, Oswego Speedway will also have a booth at the 33rd annual Syracuse Motorsports Expo, which will be held Saturday, March 9 and Sunday, March 10 in the Center of Progress Building.

Tickets for the Indoor Auto Racing Championship’s final event of the season can be purchased online at IndoorAutoRacing.com. The green flag will fly at the Fairgrounds on 7:30pm Friday evening and again at 7:00pm on Saturday.

Motorsports Expo hours are 10am to 8pm on Saturday, March 9 and 11am to 4pm on Sunday, March 10. Admission to this year’s Syracuse Motorsports Expo will be $13 for adults, $5 for kids 6-12 years of age, and FREE for children under the age of five. A two day pass is available for $20.

Oswego Speedway’s 69th season of racing gets underway on Saturday, May 25 with Jim Shampine Memorial Twin 50’s for the Novelis Supermodifieds plus full programs for the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers and the 350 Supers.

An Open Practice session for all 2019 divisions will commence one week earlier on Saturday, May 18.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, be sure to visit online at OswegoSpeedway.com. You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at Facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. The speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at the Oswego Speedway making it the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds and 350 Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, and former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.