Wednesday, 30 April 2014 17:46

Oswego Speedway Track Records in Jeopardy this Weekend

Written by
Write a comment
Dave Shullick Jr., the first member of the 150mph club at Oswego Speedway, will be back on Saturday to try and better his track record of 150.281 mph. Dave Shullick Jr., the first member of the 150mph club at Oswego Speedway, will be back on Saturday to try and better his track record of 150.281 mph. Mike Johnson photo

     With the month of May on the doorstep at Oswego Speedway, and the first green flag of the season set for Saturday, May 3, Oswego Speedway's current track records are on the line with time trials set for both the ISMA Supermodifieds and the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers this weekend.

     With cool temperatures in the forecast, track conditions could be ideal for record speeds in both divisions on Saturday afternoon when time trials take to the Speedway at 5pm.

     The current overall track record at Oswego Speedway is held by North Ridgeville, OH pilot Dave Shullick Jr., who turned the Speedway's first lap in the 14-second bracket last Classic Weekend with a lap of 14.972 seconds at 150.281 m.p.h. in his Jim Bodnar built No. 94 winged Supermodified.

     Shullick outgunned former ISMA Supermodified champions Mike Lichty and Chris Perley for the record run.

     Lichty had been the previous track record holder before Shullick's historic circuit, holding the former record of 15.019 seconds.

     The goal of all ISMA Supermodified competitors is now to join Shullick in the 150 m.p.h. club, which could see new members this weekend.

     In recent years there have been only six drivers to turn laps of 15.2 seconds or faster during winged Supermodified time trials at Oswego Speedway.

     Perley was the first to do so, setting the Speedway's track record back in 2008 with a lap of 15.198 seconds. During last year's Classic Weekend qualifications Perley bettered his personal best lap with a circuit of 15.145 seconds.

     Perley's winged Supermodified record lap from 2008 stood until May 4, 2013 when Lou Cicconi cut a breathtaking circuit of 15.164 seconds at over 148 m.p.h.

     Just two months later Cicconi's record was cut down by Lichty as a part of King of Wings V at the Speedway on July 13, 2013 with his blistering 15.019 second circuit making him the first driver in Speedway history to run a 15.0 second lap.

     Lichty's record run also put the Speedway's overall track record back into the hands of a Supermodified, besting the 15.125 second record held by Sprint Car driver Jason Cox.

     Tim Jedrzejek and Ray Graham join the list of drivers to turn laps under 15.3 seconds with laps of 15.201 seconds and 15.296 seconds respectively.

     Shullick, Lichty, Perley, and Cicconi are all expected to be in the 'Port City' this weekend for the 'Irish' Jack Murphy Memorial with the 150 m.p.h. barrier in mind.

     The current official track record in the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super division is held by Brian Sobus with a lap of 19.081 seconds, turned back in 2009.

     With the introduction of wider and softer tires to the SBS division this season, coupled with Mike Bond's amazing lap of 18.939 seconds in heat racing last May, most believe the Sobus record of '09 will fall in 2014.

     Just last Saturday, in the division's first laps of the season on a very green race track, JJ Andrews clocked in at 19.375 seconds making the record appear even more attainable come this Saturday.

     Gater Racing News will present the 64th annual opening day celebration featuring the first round of the Shea Concrete 'Steel Palace' ISMA Super Series, and the Road to the Championship lid lifter for the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super Series on Saturday, May 3.

     The ultra-fast winged ISMA Supermodifieds will take on the Oswego speed plant for 56-laps in the 2nd annual 'Irish' Jack Murphy Memorial, while the SBS will contend in their first 35-lap main of the year.

     Grandstand gates will open at 3 p.m. on May 3 with time trials set to start at 5 p.m. followed by racing at 6:30 p.m.

     To purchase tickets for Oswego Speedway's 64th annual opening night call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646. General admission seating is available for $25, with reserved seating on sale at $30, and VIP tower seating with all you can eat food and beverage for $90.

     Once again in 2014, kids 16 & under will be admitted free of charge with a paid adult with active military also admitted free with I.D.

     A rain date for Saturday's event has been posted for Sunday, May 4.

     Saturday's ISMA Supermodified event at Oswego Speedway will mark the first of four Shea Concrete 'Steel Palace' ISMA Super Series events at the Speedway.

     A year-long Oswego Super Series champion will be determined with events running on May 3, June 7, July 12, and August 30.

     For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at, follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or like on Facebook at

     Oswego Speedway's Top 10 Fastest Winged Supermodified Laps:

1. Dave Shullick Jr.: 14.972 seconds – August 31, 2013

2. Mike Lichty: 15.019 seconds – August 31, 2013

3. Mike Lichty: 15.054 seconds – July 13, 2013

4. Chris Perley: 15.145 seconds – August 31, 2013

5. Dave Shullick Jr.: 15.154 seconds – July 13, 2013

6. Lou Cicconi: 15.164 seconds – May 4, 2013

7. Chris Perley: 15.198 seconds – August 29, 2008

8. Tim Jedrzejek: 15.201 seconds – September 4, 2009

9. Lou Cicconi: 15.213 seconds – July 13, 2013

10. Chris Perley: 15.229 seconds – September 4, 2009

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.