Tuesday, 06 November 2012 22:27

Otto Sitterly Supermodified to join Hall of Champions at IMIS show

Written by
Write a comment

Oswego Speedway Novelis Supermodified track champion Otto Sitterly, will have the privilege of being honored at the International Motorsports Industry Show in Indianapolis, IN, Dec. 6-8, as his John Nicotra Racing owned Supermodified will be a part of the prestigious Hall of Champions display within the Indiana Convention Center.


     Each year at the IMIS show, the Hall of Champions is assembled to recognize major motorsports champions from across the world.
     Last season's Hall included the racing machines of NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Tony Stewart; IZOD IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti; NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Austin Dillon; Rolex Sports Car Series Daytona Protype champion Scott Pruett; World of Outlaws champions Rick Eckert; and Jason Meyers, USAC National Midget champion Bryan Clauson; and many others.
     This December, Sitterly, Nicotra, and Oswego Speedway, will join the star studded list of drivers, teams and series to be recognized.
     "It's really hard to believe the things that have happened for me," Sitterly said, now a five-time Oswego Speedway Novelis Supermodified track champion.     "Sometimes I stand back and think 'wow,' some pretty cool things are taking place for me right now. It is very much an honor for Nicotra Racing to go to Indy and represent both Oswego Speedway and Supermodified racing as a group."
     Nicotra looks at the IMIS show as the perfect way to introduce Supermodified racing – and Oswego Speedway – to a world audience.
     "Otto and I are happy to get a non-wing Supermodified out to Indy," Nicotra said. "A lot of those in the motorsports industry have heard so much about Supermodifieds, but have never seen one in person. Now they can see what we are all about at the Home of Supermodifieds, Oswego Speedway."
   With a total of four wins during the 2012 Oswego Speedway season, Sitterly now has 24 career victories which ranks 11th All-Time just two behind former International Classic champion Steve Gioia Jr. Sitterly himself is now a three-time winner of the Budweiser International Classic after winning his second consecutive title this past Labor Day Weekend. Driving for John Nicotra Racing, Sitterly also visited Classic victory lane in 2009.
Sitterly's championship effort, however, is likely the most impressive of his feats in 2012. After winning the first two events of the season, Sitterly managed to overcome two crash filled weeks in June and then outlast a determined Pat Lavery on the final night of the season for his fifth track title overall.
     Only Speedway legends Nolan Swift, Jim Shampine, and Bentley Warren have won more track championships than Otto Sitterly.
     For more information on the International Motorsports Industry Show in Indianapolis, IN, visit www.imis-indy.com.
     For more information on Oswego Speedway, visit www.oswegospeedway.com. You can also LIKE the (Official) Oswego Speedway page at facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway, or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.

    To purchase tickets or order merchandise, call the Speedway box office at 315-342-0646.


Otto Sitterly – Career Supermodified Statistics


Overall Wins:

1. Jim Shampine – 87

2. Bentley Warren – 66

3. Ed Bellinger Jr. – 51

4. Joe Gosek – 42

5. Nolan Swift – 41

6. Greg Furlong – 37

7. Doug Heveron – 33

8. Doug Didero – 33

9. Mike Ordway – 30

10. Steve Gioia Jr. – 26

11. Otto Sitterly - 24

12. Pat Abold – 22



International Classic Wins:

1. Nolan Swift – 6

2. Bentley Warren – 6

3. Greg Furlong – 6

4. Ed Bellinger Jr. – 5

5. Jim Shampine – 3

6. Joe Gosek – 3

7.  Otto Sitterly – 3

8. Warren Coniam – 2

9. Chuck Ciprich – 2

10. Doug Heveron – 2

11. Doug Didero – 2



Oswego Speedway Championships (Including A-Modifieds from 1951-1961):

1. Nolan Swift – 8

2. Jim Shampine – 7

3. Bentley Warren – 7

4.  Otto Sitterly – 5

5. Greg Furlong – 4

6. Ed Bellinger Sr. – 3

7. Doug Didero – 3

8. Mike Muldoon – 3

9. Warren Coniam – 2

10. Doug Heveron – 2

11. Joe Gosek – 2



Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.