Friday, 17 May 2013 07:26

RoC modifieds invade Oswego Speedway for Richie Evans Memorial

Written by
Write a comment
Kyle Ebersole (No. 5) and JR Kent (No. 16) battle for the lead in the Richie Evans Memorial at Oswego Speedway in 2012. Kyle Ebersole (No. 5) and JR Kent (No. 16) battle for the lead in the Richie Evans Memorial at Oswego Speedway in 2012. Mike Johnson photo

     Oswego Speedway will play host to the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series on Saturday, May 25, as a part of the Helena Chemical Company Memorial Day Weekend 'Triple-Header.'

     The ground pounding stars of the RoC Modified Series will hit the 'Steel Palace' for 75-laps in the prestigious Richie Evans Memorial, won in 2012 by Hummelstown, Pa., driver Kyle Ebersole.

     Despite arriving to the Speedway late last season with hauler issues, Ebersole managed to work his way passed JR Kent to grab the race lead holding off the charges of both Kent and Matt Hirschman to take the memorable win at Oswego.

     Hirschman, the defending Race of Champions 200 winner at the Speedway, kicked off his 2013 RoC campaign with a win at the Chemung Speedrome Sunday, May 5. Starting from the 13th position, Hirschman worked his way to the top five by lap 22 and eventually took the lead from Austin Kochenash on lap 32 to cruise on to the victory.

     The Race of Champions opener saw an impressive field of 29 Modifieds in action.

     The May 5 field at the Chemung Speedrome saw several top Modified aces, which will also be expected at Oswego on May 25 in the first of three visits for the series to the 'Steel Palace' in 2013.

     Billy Putney, Daren Scherer, Patrick Emerling, Erick Rudolph, Chuck Hossfeld, Zane Zeiner, Mike Leaty, Tony Hanbury, Rusty Smith, Tommy Cloce, TJ Potrzebowski and Pete Brittain were all among the strong field of racers on hand.

     Next Saturday's event will be the lone trip to the Speedway for the RoC series before the big Sunoco Race of Champions Weekend on July 18-20. With track time at a premium, the Richie Evans Memorial will be a pivotal event for the full cast of Modified racers as they look to put themselves in prime position for the 200-lap, hefty pay day on Saturday, July 20.

     The RoC Modified series will return in 2013 to the Budweiser International Classic Weekend line-up.

     A 100-lap affair on Friday, Aug. 30, of Classic Weekend, presented by Corr-Pak Merchandising, will conclude their three race schedule at the Speedway this season.

     Joining the RoC Asphalt Modified Series on May 25 will be Oswego's highly competitive weekly race line-up featuring the Novelis Supermodifieds and the Pathfinder Bank SBS series.

     The Supermodifieds will also compete in a 75-lap main event, with the running of the Jim Shampine Memorial, won last season by defending series champion Otto Sitterly.

     The Pathfinder Bank SBS series will see a 35-lap feature go as they will take the green in the Tony White Memorial. Cameron Rowe took the White Memorial win in 2012.

     Grandstand gates will open on May 25 with the beginning of hot laps at 2 p.m. The night's first green flag is scheduled to wave at 5 p.m.

     Be sure to visit to get more information on the Novelis Fan Can Chase for 2013. The first round of can collections for the Novelis Fan Can Chase will take place on Saturday, May 25, with several top prizes on the line, including Budweiser International Classic Weekend tickets, for those who bring in the most recycled cans at the Speedway. Collections will take place outside the main gate to the Speedway from 1:30-4:30 p.m.

     To purchase tickets for Oswego Speedway's Memorial Day Weekend 'Triple-Header', call the Speedway box office at 315-342-0646. Once again in 2013, kids 16 and younger will be admitted free of charge with a paid adult.

      For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at; follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway; or like on Facebook at

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.