Wednesday, 20 December 2017 13:09

Sitterly, Lavery and LaTulip Crack Top 25 in Oswego's All-Time Points

Written by
Write a comment
Seven time track champion Otto Sitterly is now 13th in all-time points for the Supermodifieds. Seven time track champion Otto Sitterly is now 13th in all-time points for the Supermodifieds. Sue Kells photo

Following a six year hiatus, all-time points for Oswego Speedway’s trademark 900 horsepower Supermodifieds have finally been completed and posted up to date ahead of the track’s 68th consecutive season of action set to begin on Saturday, May 26.

Besting a total of 588 drivers who have competed in the Supermodified division at Oswego since 1962, Joe Gosek has officially emerged as the speedway’s new all-time points leader with an impressive total of 32,606 career points. Scoring more top 5 finishes than any other driver at the track in 2017 played a key role in allowing Gosek to pass Jim Shampine, Steve Gioia Jr, and Eddie Bellinger Jr. all within the past six seasons.

Joining Gosek are several other current Supermodified campaigners who have moved as far up as inside the top 15. Tim Snyder, the 2001 Budweiser International Classic 200 champion, moved up one spot to 12th at 16,732. The top ten is now in reach for the ‘Zero Hero.’

Just behind Snyder is 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Supermodified track champion Otto Sitterly, who soared from 31st on the list to all the way up inside the top 15 after a half dozen more stout years with car owner John Nicotra.

Further back in the top 20, longtime campaigner Pat Lavery, who scored his first win in more than 15 years of trying with Hoefer/Samuels Racing in June of 2013, has made his way up to 17th on the all-time list.

Howard Page, who returned to Supermodified racing in 2014, was able to move up two spots to crack the top 20, while veteran Hal LaTulip improved from 39th to 23rd to mark the last active driver inside the illustrious top 25.

Sitting just outside that top 25 are Dave McKnight and Bobby Bond, who each competed at the speedway this year as well as Randy Ritskes, who last saw action at Oswego back in 2014 when he drove to three victories on the season for car owner Ken Locke.

Despite making his Oswego return for the first time in over a decade in 2017, Jeff West has dropped four spots down to 36th all-time, just ahead of current car owner Jerry Curran, who has now moved into the top 40 all-time surpassing Pat Abold, Fred Graves, Bob Goutermout, and more. Eight-time feature winner Ray Graham Jr. finishes the list of drivers who have competed since 2011 to make the top 50.

Five of the division’s current stars sit closely knit together within twelve spots as 2016 track champion Michael Barnes, defending Mr. Supermodified Dave Gruel, first time winner in 2017 Keith Shampine, another recent feature winner in Brandon Bellinger, and ten-time winner in the past six years Dave Danzer are now 57th, 58th, 61st, 67th, and 69th in all-time points, respectively. Dan Connors Jr, who has been almost an entirely full-time driver since 2011, is still looking for his first win after several second place finishes, but has still been able to move to 72nd in all-time points.

Driving for Strong, Graham and Penix Racing all within the past six years, the ‘Jersey Jet’ Joey Payne has made the top 75 at just over 5,000 points with more Oswego appearances expected for Payne in 2018 that could see the Fairlawn, N.J. driver move up as far as ten more spots.

Remaining drivers to compete in the past six years that sit within the top 100 include second generation driver and now three-time feature winner Michael Muldoon (82nd), fourteen-time top five finisher Stephen Gioia III (84th), three-time feature winner Jeff Holbrook (85th), 2002 track champion Shawn Muldoon (86th), another second generation driver and many time winner in Kody Graham (89th), the ‘original’ Mr. Supermodified Gene Lee Gibson (91st), recent breakout driver Tim Devendorf (92nd), 2016 International Classic Champion Jeff Abold (97th), returning competitor and many time feature winner Shaun Gosselin, who rounds out the top 100.

Other notables on the list include father and son Lou LeVea Sr. and Lou LeVea Jr. who are within sixty points of each other at 117th and 118th as well as defending track champion Dave Shullick Jr. who moved up more spots than anyone from 396th to 160th.

2015 rookie Aric Iosue has managed to start at the bottom of the list, but still crack the top 200 after just two full seasons of competition now see the two-time winner sitting at 183rd. Fellow newcomer Logan Rayvals is 258th after only one full season.

The full 2018 schedule for Oswego Speedway, set to open with the Jim Shampine Memorial Twin 50’s on Saturday, May 26, has been posted online at Season ticket information, pricing, and time schedules will be added after the 1st of the year. All kids 16 and under will remain FREE with a paid adult this coming season.

All-Time Oswego Speedway Non-Wing Supermodified Points (1962-2017):

As of September 2017

Includes heat and feature races using original points system. Timed warm ups and semi-final races are not factored into final points.

1 Joe Gosek 32,606

2 Eddie Bellinger Jr. 32,405

3 Steve Gioia Jr. 29,806

4 Jim Shampine 28,317

5 Bentley Warren 25,993

6 Warren Coniam 21,792

7 Jamie Moore 18,575

8 Norm Mackereth 17,548

9 Nolan Swift 17,213

10 Mike Muldoon Sr. 17,147

11 Ron Wallace Sr. 16,958

12 Timmy Snyder 16,732

13 Otto Sitterly 14,912

14 Mark Letcher 13,687

15 Doug Didero 13,156

16 Bobby Stelter 12,805

17 Pat Lavery 12,344

18 Dan Soule 11,858

19 Todd Stowell 11,752

20 Howard Page 11,356

21 Brian Herb 11,345

22 Kempton Dates 11,146

23 Hal LaTulup 11,146

24 Gary Allbritan 10,891

25 Mike Ordway 10,860

26 Timmy Gareau 10,338

27 Dave McKnight Jr. 10,333

28 Bobby Bond 10,300

29 Randy Ritskes 10,260

30 Denny Wheeler 10,186

31 Tom Lesson 10,157

32 Chuck CIprich 9,963

33 Ken Andrews 9,952

34 Doug Heveron 9,881

35 Greg Furlong 9,870

36 Jeff West 9,601

37 Jerry Curran 9,433

38 Pat Abold 9,281

39 Fred Graves 9,262

40 Gary Morton 9,231

41 Dean Hoag 8,806

42 Mike Rizzo 8,333

43 Bob Goutermout 7,979

44 Jim Winks 7,761

45 Ray Graham Jr. 7,707

46 Jim Muldoon 7,692

47 Wayne Landon 7,565

48 Timmy Nelson 7,367

49 Cliff Graves 7,239

50 Terry Johnson 7,142

51 Joe Paeno 7,142

52 Jim Gary 7,069

53 Bill Sharkey 7,054

54 Joe Hawksby Sr. 7,054

55 Jim Cheney 6,877

56 Todd Gibson 6,772

57 Michael Barnes 6,726

58 Dave Gruel 6,650

59 John Spencer 6,603

60 Sam Carista 6,178

61 Keith Shampine 6,128

62 Jack Murphy 6,051

63 Kenny Bell 5,947

64 Ed Thompson 5,927

65 Baldy Baker 5,641

66 Russ Wood 5,461

67 Brandon Bellinger 5,375

68 Jim Gresey 5,361

69 Dave Danzer 5,340

70 Red Barnhardt 5,331

71 Mike Brubaker 5,270

72 Dan Connors Jr. 5,221

73 Don Rammage 5,210

74 Joey Payne 5,143

75 Dave Shullick Sr. 5,141

76 Dave Trytek 5,106

77 Craig Rayvals 4,984

78 Kenny Williamson 4,944

79 Keith Gilliam 4,912

80 Art Bennett 4,874

81 John Logan 4,844

82 Michael Muldoon 4,755

83 Shannon Groves 4,665

84 Stephen Gioia III 4,631

85 Jeff Holbrook 4,517

86 Shawn Muldoon 4,383

87 John Torrese Jr. 4,348

88 AJ Michaels 4,343

89 Kody Graham 4,244

90 Doug Syer 4,140

91 Gene Lee Gibson 4,127

92 Tim Devendorf 4,059

93 Don MacLaren 3,972

94 Eric Lewis 3,954

95 Jim Thompson 3,891

96 Bob Smith 3,876

97 Jeff Abold 3,790

98 Gary Syrell 3,767

99 Lew Bannister 3,731

100 Shaun Gosselin 3,692

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.