Tuesday, 22 August 2017 18:37

Triple Crown Front Runners Look to Carry Momentum into Classic 200

Written by
Write a comment
Dave Shullick Jr. (Alex Borland photo) Dave Shullick Jr. (Alex Borland photo) Alex Borland photo

With Budweiser International Classic Weekend at Oswego Speedway on the horizon, TCCS front runners Dave Shullick Jr, Michael Muldoon, and Jeff Abold are looking to carry recent momentum into the richest Supermodified race in the world – the Budweiser International Classic 200.

Over the weekend at Oswego, Shullick and Abold ended their non-wing regular season on high notes, with Shullick claiming his first Oswego track championship, and Abold scoring his first victory of the season at The Steel Palace.

Driving the John Nicotra Racing No. 2, Shullick scored four wins on the season at Oswego including three triumphs in TCCS events, which helped him gain an early lead in the Bentley Warren Driver of the Year standings.

Now a winner of MSA, ISMA, and Oswego championships; all that remains on the plate for ‘Shoe 2’ is a win in the International Classic, a race he nearly conquered just one year ago before handing the lead to Abold on the final lap, out of fuel.

Abold has come on strong in recent weeks at the Port City oval and put it all together on Saturday night as he visited Turning Stone Resort Casino Victory Lane in the Team Abold Racing No. 05.

With strong runs at Sandusky Speedway in ISMA action last month, Abold now looks to defend his Classic crown and take control of the TCCS standings before finishing the season at the Star Speedway Classic, an event he has shown well at for several seasons.

The team Abold is looking to chase down for the $6,000 top prize in the Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year standings is Mike Muldoon Racing with driver Michael Muldoon.

Focusing on wing racing the last month, Muldoon surprised the ISMA contingent with a victory in the Ollie Silva Classic at Lee Speedway on August 11, becoming the first driver since Bob Bond in 2010 to win wing and non-wing races in the same season, with the same race car.

With the Oswego Classic next, Muldoon trails Shullick by 85-points in the driver championship and leads Abold by 75-points in the car championship.

Last year Muldoon sat on pole position for the Classic, coming home with a 6th place finish.

At least five other TCCS teams and six other TCCS drivers are also expected to be in action for the 200 on Sunday, September 3 as they compete for over $25,000 in TCCS point money and a share of the more than $75,000 Classic purse.

If interested in helping to support the Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing feel free to contact series promoter Dan Kapuscinski by e-mail at [email protected] or by phone at (315) 708-7544.

To learn more about Oswego Speedway, visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com and be sure to visit www.ismasupers.com for more information on the International Supermodified Association.

About the TCCS: The Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing, a promotional Supermodified series, was formed by Dan Kapuscinski Motorsports Promotions in conjunction with Oswego Speedway and the International Supermodified Association. The 10-race joint venture, which helps to provide bonus money for Supermodified drivers and owners, would not be possible without the support of Shea Concrete Products, ASI Racewear, A&P Automotive, Burke’s Do-It-Best Home Centers as well as the support and dedication of the participating TCCS race teams and the loyal Supermodified fan base.

Bentley Warren Driver of the Year Standings: (as of July 29)

1. Dave Shullick Jr.*** - 699
2. Mike Muldoon - 614
3. Otto Sitterly - 586
4. Dave Danzer - 555
5. Jeff Abold - 539
6. Joey Payne - 534
7. Tim Snyder - 527
8. Tim Jedzrejek - 525
9. Dave McKnight - 521
10. Joe Gosek - 460

Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year Standings: (as of July 29)

1. Muldoon Racing 15 - 614
2. Team Abold Racing 05 - 539
3. Penix Racing 14 - 534
4. Danzer Racing 52 - 527
5. Snyder Racing 0 - 527
6. Morton Racing 70 - 521
7. Gosek Racing 00 - 460

Shea Concrete Triple Crown Championship Series presented by ASI Racewear Schedule:

May 13 – Oswego Speedway 67th Season Opener (Non-Wing) – Dave Shullick Jr.
June 3 – ISMA Lancaster Speedway (Wing) – Trent Stephens
June 10 – Oswego Speedway Twin 35’s (Non-Wing) – Dave Shullick Jr.
June 23 – ISMA Stafford Speedway (Wing) – Ben Seitz
July 1- Oswego Speedway Independence Grand Prix (Non-Wing) – Dave Shullick Jr.
July 22 – Oswego Speedway Mr. Suprermodified (Non-Wing)** - Dave Gruel
July 28 – ISMA Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Fast 40 (Wing) – Moe Lilje
July 29 – ISMA Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Nationals (Wing)** - Mike Ordway Jr.
September 3 – Oswego Speedway International Classic (Non-Wing)**
September 9 – ISMA Star Speedway Classic (Wing)**
** - Indicates Double Point Shows

Feature Points Only, Oswego 100-point format
Best (3) Non-Wing finishes, combined with best (3) wing finishes count toward (6) race point total

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.