Wednesday, 28 October 2015 00:12

Loayza Directs Climate Change Theatre Action in Oswego

Written by
Write a comment
Loayza Directs Climate Change Theatre Action in Oswego Submitted photo

Prof. Milton Loayza, of the Modern Languages Department, directs a stage reading of 7 short pieces with the participation of SUNY Oswego students. The plays are by Deborah Asiimwe (Uganda), Chantal Bilodeau (Canada), Olivier Mayer (US), Silvia Peláez (Mexico), Elyne Quan (Canada), August Schulenburg (US), and Stephen Sewell (Australia).

The main goal of the Climate Change Theatre Action project is to invite as many people as possible, who may not otherwise pay attention to this history-in-the-making event, to participate in a global conversation.

All CLIMATE CHANGE THEATRE ACTION events will be registered with ArtCOP21 – Cultural Programme for Paris Climate 2015 ( When technically possible, events will be livestreamed on HowlRound TV (, making them accessible to all CCTA participants and global audiences.


Climate Change Theatre Action is modeled on previous NoPassport theatre actions focused on gun control ( and the aftermath of the Deepwater Horizon BP oil spill (, CCTA draws on the expertise and resources of local artists, while being global in scope and uniting multiple countries and cultures around a common issue. As Elaine Avila, one of the co-organizers, notes, “Coming together to tell stories is one of the best ways we have to organize and educate ourselves, to feel and to understand.”

A collection of 1-5 minute plays, poems and songs by 50 writers from all six livable continents, curated by Caridad Svich (playwright, 2012 OBIE for Lifetime Achievement & NoPassport), Chantal Bilodeau (playwright, recipient Woodward International Playwriting Prize & The Arctic Cycle) and Elaine Avila (playwright, recipient Disquiet International Literary Program Playwriting Award & Theatre Without Borders), has been made available to collaborators worldwide. To date, 100 collaborators have committed to hosting events, ranging from readings in classrooms to day-long festivals, from films and radio programs to site-specific performances at the foot of glaciers.

“This artivist action on climate change is an opportunity to reflect, with multiple communities, on of the most vital issues on the planet, continuing our mission toward a theatre that can illuminate the relationship between humans and nature,” says Caridad Svich.

A Kick Off event, produced by the organizers and directed by Emily Mendelsohn will be held on November 2, 2015 from 6:30-8:00 PM at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe in New York City.


NoPassport theatre alliance and press was founded by playwright Caridad Svich in 2003 and is committed to the advocacy, promotion, production and publication of creative expressions of diversity and difference in theatre and performance. NoPassport is fiscally sponsored by Fractured Atlas. ( Caridad Svich (US): [email protected]

The Arctic Cycle was founded by playwright Chantal Bilodeau in 2009, and uses artistic engagement and advocacy to communicate the urgency of the global climate crisis and encourage people to take action. ( Chantal Bilodeau (US): [email protected]

Theatre Without Borders (TWB) is a grass-roots, informal, and volunteer, virtual community that shares information and builds connections between individuals and institutions interested in international theatre exchange. Elaine Avila (Canada): [email protected]


Eco-centers: ONCA Center for Arts and Ecology (UK), SMART Eco-Park (India).

Individuals: Vicky Album (UK), Michael Johnson-Chase & Simón Hanukai (France), Jenny Christian (Lexington, KY), Susan Day (Canada), Elizabeth Doud (Miami, FL), Bella Macdiarmid (Australia), Evelyn O'Malley (UK), Jack Paterson (UK), Matthew Schneider Mayerson (Singapore), Matthew Sekellick (Buffalo, NY), Tewodros Tessema (Ethiopia), Arden Thomas (Los Angeles, CA), Travis Weekes (Saint Lucia), Clare Whisler (UK), Douglas Williamson (Costa Rica), Kathleen Worley (Portland, OR)

Radio: KUNM's Radio Theatre (Albuquerque, NM)

Schools: C.W. Baker High School (Baldwinsville, NY), California Language School (Spain), Haque Centre of Acting & Creativity (Singapore), Kwantlen Park Secondary School (Canada).

Theatres: 516 Arts/Tricklock Theatre (Albuquerque, NM), Artichoke Dance Company (Brooklyn, NY), Artists Repertory Theatre & Boom Arts (Portland, OR), Box Collective (Brooklyn, NY), BuSSy Project (Egypt), Casa de Marioneta (Portugal), Creative South Africa (South Africa), Factory Theatre (Canada), House Theatre (UK), Hudson River Playback Theatre (New Paltz, NY), In altre parole (Italy), John Frey Studio (Portugal), La Fuente (Chile), Laboratório de ecopoeticas (Brazil), Maria Zimbro Centre (Portugal), Mirateca Arts (Portugal), Mo'olelo Performing Arts Company (San Diego, CA), Moxie Productions Burlington & Waterbury, VT), Multistages (New York, NY), New Georges (New York, NY), Nuyorican Poets Café (New York, NY), Oregon Shakespeare Festival (Ashland, OR), Pat the Dog Playwrights Centre (Canada), Perseverance Theatre (Juneau, AK), Playwrights Theatre Centre & The Only Animal (Canada), Rogue Machine Theatre (Los Angeles, CA), Skaraventer Project (Armenia), SNAFU Dance Theatre & Puente Theatre (Canada), Teatro Caralimipia (Panamá), Theatre Simple (Seattle, WA), Traverse Theatre (Scotland), Tropa Nomade (Chile), Vhitori Entertainment (Zimbabwe), Vihan Drama Works (India), Vortex Theatre (Albuquerque, NM).

Universities: Arizona State University, Boston Conservatory, Brandeis University, California Institute of the Arts, California State University, Carnegie Mellon University, Dickinson College, John Jay College, Ithaca College, Kansas State University, Massey University (New Zealand), Manchester University (UK), Middlebury College, Middlesex University (UK), National Academy of the Performing Arts Theater Company (Pakistan), New York University, New York University Abu Dhabi, Ohio University, Pomona College, Ramapo College, Randolph-Macon College, Santa Clara University, Saint Michael’s College, SUNY Oswego, University of Connecticut, University of Iowa, University of New Hampshire, University of Oregon, University of San Francisco, Vancouver Island University (Canada), Western Washington University, West Virginia University at Parkersburg, York University (Canada).

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.