Wednesday, 31 July 2019 13:05

Oswego's Season Resumes with JP Jewelers 'Retro Night' August 3

Written by
Write a comment
Oswego's Season Resumes with JP Jewelers 'Retro Night' August 3 Bob Clark photo

Oswego Speedway’s 69th season will resume with its annual ‘Retro Night’ special presented by JP Jewelers of Oswego this Saturday, August 3.

The program, headlined by a 45-lap Novelis Supermodified main event and a 30-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS feature will springboard the speedway into its final three race stretch of the summer, which will conclude with $5 Admission Track Championship Night on August 17.

While Supermodified and Small Block Super campaigners will continue their battles for the track championship, winged 350 Supermodified drivers will receive the night off in observance of the Jim Belfiore Memorial event at Star Speedway before returning on August 10.

As of Dave Gruel’s $10,000 victory in Mr. Novelis Supermodified two weeks ago, there have now been eight different winners in nine big block events which include Gruel, Otto Sitterly, Alison Sload, Jeff Abold, Dave Danzer, Michael Barnes, Joe Gosek, and Dave Shullick Jr.

With a top five finish in all but one show, Sitterly has dominated the points race over Abold, Gosek, Nicotra Racing teammate Sload, and most recently Gruel, who crept into the top five with the aid of his Mr. Supermodified checkered.

Behind Gruel, it is anyone’s guess who will end up where as Keith Shampine, Brandon Bellinger, Shullick, Danzer, and Barnes are all locked in a very tight battle for positions six through ten.

In the Pathfinder Bank SBS ranks, Anthony Losurdo has been absolutely dominant with four wins to Dave Cliff’s two and teammate David LaTulip’s one. The defending track champion leads Cliff by nearly thirty points and LaTulip by over fifty.

Although Sitterly and Losurdo appear to be the championship favorites, anything can happen in the final three events of the season as several drivers remain within striking distance, keeping their title hopes alive.

Saturday’s racing will get underway at 6:45pm, with hot laps at 4pm and group time trials at 6:15pm. The 14th annual Old Timer’s Reunion will be held at Lighthouse Lanes beforehand from 10am to 3pm.

JP Jewelers, located on West Bridge Street in the City of Oswego, is family owned and operated by James Pauldine and Kevin Hill. JP specializes in custom jewelry and design, diamond buying and selling, coin and paper currency, and precious metals.

For several years, JP Jewelers has also sponsored the highly sought after ‘Classic ring,’ and stocks special edition Supermodified and Small Block Supermodified earrings or charms along with a selection of number charms for your favorite drivers.

JP Jewelers is also heavily involved in the buying and selling industry, always buying your broken or unwanted gold, sterling silver, platinum, coins, or vintage and estate jewelry. Stop in for a free, no obligation quote.

To learn more about JP Jewelers, visit You can also LIKE JP Jewelers on Facebook or phone (315)-342-GOLD (6453).

For more information on Oswego Speedway, be sure to visit online at You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, Instagram @OfficialOswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. The speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at the Oswego Speedway making it the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds and 350 Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, and former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

Write comments...
symbols left.
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.